"BEST CURRY IN BLACKPOOL" *

Home Our Delicious Menu  How to find us TripAdvisor Reviews Pictures

Open Monday to Sunday • 12 noon to 2:30 p.m. • 6 pm to midnight

See what others say:
these are all genuine independent reviews

“Great service for a large group”
Reviewed 1 September 2015
We went to Akash Tandoori as a group of 9 young men in a hurry to get to a pre-booked show later that evening. The staff were extremely helpful and very responsive to our requests, and the food that arrived was as good as any Indian cuisine I've had in other parts of the country, styled and spiced traditionally which was much to my liking. I particularly liked the crockery patterns, which were an exact match of my grandparents crockery when I was a child. Overall the experience was very good but particularly enhanced by the hospitality of our hosts. Would recommend.
“Delicious Paneer masala! ”

Reviewed 31 August 2015
We visited Akash last weekend. We were very hungry and looking for something Desi. Found this cute little place on Taste Card.The food was delicious, especially Paneer Masala and Nan. My friends enjoyed their chicken tandoori as well! But the orange juice that I had was lil bitter, which can be forgiven if I get the number the of the cute Goan guy who waited our table! :D

“Excellent”

Reviewed 27 August 2015
Ordered a Takeaway To Our B&B Last Night After Reading Reviews On Here, Was Not Disappointed.!!! This Is a Decent Curry House Amazing Flavours, Very Authentic and Big Portions.!!! Amazing.!!!

“Excellent meal again”

Reviewed 24 August 2015
We visited the Akash on our recent weekend in Blackpool.
We have eaten here 3 times previously in the past and have never been disappointed.The staff are very friendly and the boss man is a nice friendly guy.
We had a laugh this time about the dart players that use the restaurant when the world matchplay is on at the Winter Gardens.I was a bit suspicious of his stories though with me being Scottish when he asked me how Jocky Wilson was doing lol.
But back to the food good quality and very tasty.Give it a go you wont be disappointed

“Smith family from batley west yorks”

Reviewed 24 August 2015
Food excellent good service will visit again good with kids and sevice quick and friendly we went for family meal whilst on holiday

“Best dhaal”

Reviewed 19 August 2015
Went with my family of four people,we like vegetarian food and we saw akash has so many different vegetables dishes,we enjoyed dhaal and paneer dishes,it all tasted like home cooking,please don't take my word you try yourself
Tanx a lot

“The Akash”

Reviewed 19 August 2015
We went for a family meal whilst on holiday. The owner of B & B we were in recommended we try the Akash and we were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and the service was excellant. The prices are reasonable and the portions were massive. Although the food was lovely there was so much of it, more than we could ever manage.

“Not quite what we expected”

Reviewed 19 August 2015
Hello and thanks for reading this review. Having been to Blackpool a number of times we wanted to try a little different and went for the curry theme. Using Tripadvisor we chose Akash and once you get to the top of the stairs you get the feelfor this place. Chef from Bangladesh and staff all happy to serve you. It is licensed and there is a choice but my wife and I went straight off off the menu for a good heat curry, tasty and not really like any other curry. It has a complimentary taste of it's own andd having chosen chicken it was absolutely lovely. The best Tikka chicken. Seating a little restricted in places bu typical for this kind of restaurant, personal service and well worth a visit. When you get to thee front door you kind of hesitate but don't get in there and give it a go - lovely food, great staff and a pleasant change from the norm. Thanks for reading our review

“Awesome food”

Reviewed 17 August 2015
Hi
I've been blackpool with my family for holiday and i got a chance to eat indian food in akash restaurant,which is situated in the blackpool town center and The best indian food I have had ever in my life in akash tandoori restaurant,tanx

“PUNK TASTIC CURRY”

Reviewed 15 August 2015
Came to Punk Gig went to Akash for a meal with friends they were accommodating because it was packed, the food came out quickly even it was so busy and every thing tasty and fresh the staff was very friendly.and we felt we could relaxed in the Akash. We will be back next year.

“fantstic food”

Reviewed 12 August 2015
recommended by a friend and I would recommend this place to everybody. when you walk in and walk upstairs the carpet reminded me of what my old auntie had in her house she was a fantastic cook and when you sit down in the restaurant you will not be disappointed the waiters were friendly and polite the service was quick and the food was piping hot but its the taste that grabs you right from the first spoon full.
there was 4 of us in our party instead of reading the menu then reading it again we opted for the set menu for 4 (not what would do that often) it was fantastic you could change any of the main curry dishes to what you wanted nothing was to much bother.
The owner offered the ladies free Baileys after we had coffee to round off a smashing relaxing and stuffed to the GILLS Friday night if you are reading this you must try it.

“Lovely”

Reviewed 12 August 2015
Thanks for the delicious curry and the great atmosphere! Brilliant food and staff. Will be back next year

“Blinking marvellous ”

Reviewed 8 August 2015
Up in Blackpool for a few days and our party decided it was curry time . I ordered chicken tikka madras and a plain nan . The service was friendly,helpful and welcoming , and my madras was nothing short of excellent.
Have to say, I'm really really impressed . Definitely worth you checking this place out.

“Great curry”

Reviewed 6 August 2015
our last night in Blackpool and unusually hadn't seen any Indian restaurants in 4 days. Even asking for recommendations from our friends (locals) came up short of suggestions. Thankfully we found the Akash on trip advisor.
Excellent food, excellent service and great value for money. I'd recommend the Akash to any curry lover visiting Blackpool

“When in Blackpool this is our only Indian restaurant we will visit”

Reviewed 2 August 2015
We recently visited Blackpool for 5 days, and visited Akash on 2 of the evenings.
The food was excellent quality, good sized portions, a wide choice and definatly value for money.
The service was excellent, on our 1st visit, it was Sammi's night off, we were looked after by Sammi's son and the lovely gentleman (apologies useless with names), they both made our evening.
On the second visit, Sammi was there, as always he is a lovey gentleman, and he works really hard to make the business a successful.

“Top-class curry”

Reviewed 2 August 2015
We were desperately searching for a curry on our last night in Blackpool, so we turned to Tripadvisor. Once we got to the Akash - which is in a nice part of town - the delicious smell was a good sign of what was to come.
We shared a lovely mixed kebab starter, then I had chicken madras while my partner tucked in to a lamb dupiaza. We shared chips and mushroom rice as accompaniments.
My madras was the best I've had in a restaurant for ages, and the lamb dupiaza - which contained large chunks of very tender meat - quickly disappeared!
We both had reasonably-priced pints of Carlsberg, and the bill was under £30.
The staff are charming and friendly, and the proprietor, Sammy, is a lovely guy.
We will be back!

“Sammy does it again....brilliant food...”

Reviewed 31 July 2015
Been back many times to the akash to see Sammy.the best Indian in Blackpool by far.tasty food.good service.and always local fresh produce which makes the food outstanding.we will be over from Spain in October and will be back again thanks for lovely time and service.

“akash blackpool”

Reviewed 30 July 2015
just visited this restaraunt after friends told me to try,room is on the first floor,very busy at time of visit but shown to table straight away, owner & staff are very friendly & nothing too much trouble, food very nice & would recommend massala dishes,will definetly call again when bsck in town.

“Best indian food we have ever tasted.”

Reviewed 27 July 2015
My husband had the mixed kebab starter, he was overjoyed by the favours and declared it the best he had eaten. The madras main was similarly scrumptious with many levels and depth of flavour. Nan bread was so light I could of happily eaten it on its own. The chef is simply a genius. We will certainly pay a visit whenever we are in the area.

“Great little Indian resteraunt”

Reviewed 20 July 2015
Visited here on a wet, windy March evening, but had a warm welcome. Food was delicious, and the surroundings are just want you want from an Indian restaurant. Good to hear that the events in Blackpool keep these places going. Well worth searching this place out, we can't wait to visit again in October.

“After a show meal”

Reviewed 16 July 2015
We were a group of 4 adults in Blackpool to see show at the Opera House. Looked on line for nearest Indian Restaurant for a meal after the show. Not on ground level so could be hard going if you are not good with stairs. Once upstairs it was of the old style Indian Restaurants it could do with a bit of a makeover, but the staff were very friendly and inviting and the service was very efficient. Leaving the decor aside, the food was gorgeous, good size portions and not overpriced. We would definitely eat there again.

“Highly recommended!”

Reviewed 8 July 2015
Visited on Tuesday around 11pm. Very authentic cuisine with friendly staff who go that extra mile. Good value and good portions too!

“The best food & service”

Reviewed 30 June 2015
We have been to the akash several times now and cannot fault it one bit. The food is delicious and tasty. The service is quick and excellent. Everytime we have visited we are made to feel very welcome and we look forward to visiting again soon.

“Great for a Late Night Meal”

Reviewed 21 June 2015
Excellent Meal, extensive Menu, great service the best curry in Blackpool.
Sammy and all the staff are very friendly.

“Hidden gem”

Reviewed 21 June 2015
The wife and I fancied an Indian but we didn't know where to go so we asked a taxi driver and he took us here and we are very grateful he did because the food was superb.
We walked in it looks a bit run down but nothing that a lick of paint couldn't fix.
The staff were very friendly and polite. The only thing was that we felt a bit rushed we had starters and a main course and we was out within 45 minutes and it wasn't even busy.
We would definitely return here but take our time.

“The curry mile returns ”

Reviewed 10 June 2015
This is the best place I have found and Iv come her tonight for a party, the service is excellent and food is second to none the staff very helpful and make you very welcome it's a must resturant to visit thanks Sammy and all the staff
 

“Sharon”
Reviewed 26 May 2015
Speedy service, friendly, chatty staff, and we were all impressed with our meals, from a vegetarian curry to tandoori mixed grill. Would definitely visit again if travel to Blackpool.

“Anniversary meal”

Reviewed 26 May 2015
O.M.G. Just had a fantastic meal. Brilliant service. Fantastic food. Can't really say much more apart from if you are in Blackpool and want a great meal this place is a must

“Excellent”

Reviewed 22 May 2015
Wife and kids away for the weekend, nipped in on my own for a cheeky curry and pint, Made to feel so comfortable by sammi and his staff, as always food was exceptional. Full as a butchers dog lol

“birthday meal”

Reviewed 10 May 2015
excellent service throughout the whole evening....will def go again next time in the area. Not to be missed if you in the area and want that special curry and pampering.

“Simply the best!”

Reviewed 6 May 2015
Dined here Saturday 02-05-15.Went for early evening meal just after Akash opened at 18:00. The quality of the food is fantastic. The service is unhurried and all staff are polite. The owner Sammy will take time to talk to you and with his photographic memory always remembers you! Don't mention Spurs or he'll never shut up! Search this restaurant out you won't regret it. This is the place we always head for when in Blackpool.

“Great Indian Curry”

Reviewed 2 May 2015
I have been going to Akash for many years and I have eaten in many Indian Restaurants throughout the world and the minced lamb Keema curry in this Indian restaurant is the best I have ever had. It is hard to find but worth making the effort to find it upstair on Topping Street

“a very special place hidden in blackpool.”

Reviewed 30 April 2015
i am a pro musician and found akash rest,years ago its the only place to get a true flavour of a curry house no where else comes close,me and my wife love it there,and theres no rush and the food is fantastic,akash opened my eyes re:curries and the drinks are very resanable.a great wine for the wife to.we will always go to the akash as no other will touch it.thanks to all the staff and cheaf a great meal any time of the day or night.thanks guys.trev & jean

“Best Indian in central Blackpool”

Reviewed 27 April 2015
I have been here numerous times and it is great! Food is excellent, they try very hard to please and the service is very friendly and attentive. What is not to like? There isn't a better Indian restaurant in the centre of town! Always prepared to be educated though?

“The specials are worth a try!”

Reviewed 26 April 2015
A group of us went here after a night out at the Wedgewood Rooms. Myself and my partner ordered from the specials menu, ordering Curried Lamb Shank and Tandoori Chicken. They were both excellent, presented beautifully and tasted fresh. An excellent contemporary take on British curry house dishes. The others we were with weren't as adventurous and all ordered Kormas, ours was definitely better. I would love to try more of their specials and urge everyone else to!

“Absolute superb eatery ”

Reviewed 24 April 2015
Visited Akash for the 1st time and really enjoyed the experience Akash and his team went out their way to make us feel so welcome and made our food the way we wanted it such a superb service and relaxing atmosphere well worth a visit for such a fantastic price A++++

“Great Indian restaurant”

Reviewed 16 April 2015
I am software professional and working in Blackpool after trying number of Indian restaurant I found Akash is the best Indian restaurant in Blackpool Great food ,great service and great price.i would definitely recommend AKASH who love Indian and tandoori food ??????????????

“Meal before the Grand Theatre”

Reviewed 15 April 2015
We booked the Akash because of its close proximity to the theatre and West St car park.It opens at 6pm. The restaurant is upstairs and could easily be missed.The decor etc is dated but the place is clean.The service is friendly and very good.The best thing about Akash, however, is the food. Very tasty, well cooked and hot. We would definitely go there again.

“Chris Maloney”

Reviewed 15 April 2015
Very tasty food, the waiter tan was charming and average looking, great night, met chris Maloney too. TM x

“Great service would come again”

Reviewed 9 April 2015
Met Chris Maloney was a good time he's a resident, food fantastic delivered very well, well looked after and I loved it x

“Another great meal”

Reviewed 7 April 2015
Delicious food, great service and excellent price. What more could I ask? We have been here before and the food, service and price are as good as ever. Do not be put off by the exterior - this is a gem in Blackpool.

“Friendly and great service. ”

Reviewed 7 April 2015
We went there late in the evening and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The food was delicious and the naan bread was the best we've ever had!

“Great little place.”

Reviewed 4 April 2015
We fancied an Indian meal and found the Akash in trip advisor. When we arrived it was easy to see why some people might have criticised it. The decor was ageing and the whole place looked like it would benefit from a good freshen up.

The guys who worked there were engaging, friendly and very pleasant, it was obvious that the place struggled a little for customers due to location and size of frontage. (There was just a doorway which lead to.an upstairs restaurant).

The food was superb. There was a good range of dishes and some that were new to us.

If you try and look beyond the decor, this is a great place to eat.

“Amazing food and staff ”

Reviewed 2 April 2015
Whilst on holiday in Blackpool, we decided we wanted an Indian. Googled it and came up with this place. It was a small, lovely place. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The food was delicious and great value for money. We would defintely go back if ever in Blackpool again!

“Amazing food and hospitality and great value for money”

Reviewed 6 March 2015
The staff were very friendly throught the meal the food was exeptional. Me and my family felt very comfortable with the hospitality and the restaurant was very clean and tidy overall an amazing night out and we would recomend the akash to anyone

“40 th birthday”

Reviewed 5 March 2015
Simply the best, had my 40 th birthday party at the Akash along with 55 of my family and friends. Every meal was perfect and the staff are amazing, a night I will never forget.

“THE best tandoori experience I've ever had in my life! !!!!!!”

Reviewed 13 February 2015
From the minute you walk in the door it exudes warmth, comfort and familiarity!!! The staff are friendly and very welcoming. ... Making you feel like one of the family :) The food is of 5 plus star quality. ..as is the service. I would highly recommend this restaurant to one and all! !!!!!

“Excellent new wave Indian restaurant in Blackpool..”

Reviewed 12 February 2015
I visited this restaurant for the first time yesterday day for food.Very friendly staff on arrival.The interior decor is modern British style. The dinner was delicious with small price tag...

“Fab food, fab venue.....10/10!”

Reviewed 24 January 2015
Being from the Midlands we love a good curry.....the food here was second to none and the staff were really friendly!

“Superb food”

Reviewed 16 January 2015
Been going to Akash for at least ten years (as live away) but we thoroughly enjoyed our visit in December. Great traditional curry house with friendly staff also waiter Kai and really good food. Sauces are distinctly different in each dish and tasty. Always benchmark my dish by Lamb Dopiaza but our whole group had a range of different main courses and all hit the mark. Loved the visit and hopefully won't be another ten years or so before we return...well done to The Akash team.

“Great food”

Reviewed 11 January 2015
I am hotel owner in Blackpool been in all the Indians Akash I found best for food and service I have been sending guests for many years never been let down it is also a place locals use as well I also seen many stars dine there I dined once and nigel Benn sat on next table to us. many thanks to Kai and staff

“Superb food ”

Reviewed 11 January 2015
Food was fantastic service was excellent, can't wait to go again, would highly recommend the mixed starter, garlic chicken and the bombay potatoes

“1st class food every time”

Reviewed 8 January 2015
we have been visiting Sammy at the akash for many years,been living in spain and just come back,the food here is excellent,allways fresh and very good service,you can tell he has been here over 20 years,the best indian in blackpool bar far...




“lovely food”

Reviewed 31 December 2014
The restaurant is a bit dated but were welcomed by the staff and the food was cooked to order ,when it arrived it was lovely and nothing was too much trouble very good place and probably one of the nicest curries we have had ,so if you visit look beyond the decor and enjoy what youve gone for FOOD

“best curry house”

Reviewed 26 November 2014
went after watching lee mack the comedy good food great service, not expensive like some places we have been to lamb was tender nice nan coming back in summer with kids will be going back to akash

“the best”

Reviewed 12 November 2014
I don't need to say much you have to go and taste probably the best Indian/Bangladesh food I've tasted the curries are great Sammy always suggests something new that the chefs have created nothing is to much trouble the naan breads are amazing always reasonable very relaxed informal atmosphere a great night out

“Excellent As Always”

Reviewed 10 November 2014
Living in Blackpool I go to the Akash whenever I fancy a curry. The staff are friendly, the food is great and the prices are fair. The decor is proper old school curry house and it actually adds to the enjoyment. There are no other curry houses in Central Blackpool that can come close.

“Superb food and service”

Reviewed 4 November 2014
The Akash delivered again on my Halloween visit. Two superbly cooked meals delivered in a polite and efficient style. Sami as usual provided the banter and his football knowledge knows no bounds. Many thanks from a happy Swansea City Supporter.

“Good food, great value”

Reviewed 2 November 2014
I had a very tasty chicken bhuna. I was also given a complimentary Brandy at the end of my meal. I was surprised at how small the bill was. If you're looking for a friendly, good value Indian restaurant in Blackpool then look no further!

“GREAT FOOD EXCELLENT SERVICE”

Reviewed 29 October 2014
I have visited a few curry houses in my time but I have to say the food here is amazing.
Greeted by the owner who made us feel welcome and it wasn't that long before the starters came.
The restaurant was extremely busy with pictures of mike Baldwin and Eglebert gracing the bar area, would definitely come again
Thanks to all the staff for making us feel welcome and compliments to the chef

“Good food, great value”

Reviewed 24 October 2014
A good Indian restaurant with very friendly, helpful staff. My wife is vegan but rather than having to be restricted to suitable meals from the veggie section of the menu, the waiter said she could pick any of the currys and they would adapt it. My wife opted for the vegetable Vindaloo which she enjoyed. I had a very tasty chicken bhuna. I was also given a complimentary Brandy at the end of my meal.

I was surprised at how small the bill was. If you're looking for a freindly, good value Indian restaurant in Blackpool then look no further!

“Good Value”

Reviewed 24 October 2014
Visited Blackpool for the day and chose the Akash based on reviews on Trip Advisor.
Its not the smartest venue but the food is excellent and very good value for money. If you are looking for a good honest curry house then give it a try. The staff are professional and very pleasant and friendly. Give it a try I don't think you'll be disapointed.

“Fabulous food ”

Reviewed 20 October 2014
Went to sammy for a meal last night for my son 22nd birthday we had a great meal every meal came out piping hot full of taste .l really love sammy food x hes such good fun very welcoming .thanks for a lovley meal xsee you soon

“Great food”
Reviewed 17 October 2014
I love the service hear and the food is out of this world and the price is great. I love Sammy he's so funny
“Retro goodness”

Reviewed 7 October 2014
This is one of the nicest most reasonably priced Indians in the area. The food is great and the staff are good fun, always making a fuss of us every time we go! The decor is outdated, but so much so I feel nostalgia for the 80's - I mean it's a long time since I saw pink tiles floor to ceiling in a bathroom.

The Makhani is absolutely gorgeous!

“Tender lamb ”

Reviewed 3 October 2014
Excellant food and service ,me and my girlfriend went in on a thursday night, we were greeted with a big smile and a friendley face, whith I think it is inportant, I libe in manchester and. When I vist resturants in curry mile, they have not got the same attitude. I ordered a lamb kahri which was very tender and tasty, and the bill was 30% cheaper than curry mile .so next time I vist blackpool l shal be going back again.

“Great central Blackpool curry house.”

Reviewed 1 October 2014
As always the Akash never fails on the food front. Just been refurbished and a stones throw from the winter gardens. The Akash has been open for over twenty years.

“Fantastic!!! ”

Reviewed 21 September 2014
Absolutely fantastic! Staff are great and the food is excellent! Great little find! Couldnt recomend this place anymore this is our 3rd Visit in a year and still is just as great!! Great food great staff what more do yu want!!

“Wonderful food! :-)”

Reviewed 16 September 2014
We where recommended this restaurant by the owner of the great B&B we we're staying in(The Pearl) The AKASH is only a small restaurant located upstairs at 76 Topping street, Blackpool but don't let this put you off! We ordered a chicken Jalfrezi, chicken tika masala & chicken nuggets & chips for my son along with poppadoms , naan bread, chutneys, drinks etc. The food arrived Good & hot, tasting every bit as good as our favourite Tandoori restaurant back home, Our sons meal was huge including salad & the drink price's very reasonable :-)

“Best restaurant I have been to in a long time”

Reviewed 14 September 2014
The akash was recommended to me by my friend and I can truly say it is the best restaurant I have been to in a long time the owner sammy has a great attitude and the staff are lovely I 100% recommend this place

“Great indian food!”

Reviewed 13 September 2014
Im an indian student just moved to blackpool and was looking for a good place to eat, i had tried a few places but this was the best for traditional indian food, it was good value for money and the portions were large staff were also very helpful and friendly

“Super friendly ”

Reviewed 6 September 2014
As previous reviewers explained, the decor seriously needs updating, but the rest of the dining experience made up for that. The owner is extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. I know of many Indian restaurants that would do well to learn done customer service skills from these guys.

The food is very well priced, chosen from a fairly small menu. I'd certainly visit again. However it's location isn't the best, and it doesn't look too appealing from outside. If you're in the vicinity then it's definitely worth a visit. If you're not, I wouldn't go so far as to say mske a special journey here.

“You don't eat book covers!”

Reviewed 6 September 2014
I've recently enjoyed numerous Indian meals in a variety of restaurants and this is without doubt the worst located, most unappealing and least promising one by a mile!
Boy you can't judge a book by its cover, what Akash delivers is what you go out hoping for, good service, good food and a warm welcome.

And the overall experience? In two words, simply fantastic!“Good Food”

Reviewed 4 September 2014
At first sight you wouldn't be impressed, but.... Lovely, friendly staff, amazing food, great service and cheap as. The decor is outdated and not that nice but for the price you pay it's all amazing. Totally would go again. Lovely service.

“Absolutely stunning”

Reviewed 1 September 2014
After going out for something nice to eat from our hotel our taxi took us to a steakhouse which was dire we only stayed 2 mins and left to be left pondering what me and my wife was going to eat.. After doing a lap of the town centre we stopped at a taxi rank and asked a driver if he knew of a nice Indian we could try ... After pointing out directions which was roughly a 3 min walk past the winter gardens we stumbled across the Indian restaurant.. To be fair the decor needs upgrading by the food was out of this world. The owner knew of the taxi driver who pointed this eaterie to us and treated us to a superb medal from start to finish after abit of banter with him and a free shot if brandy I would deffinately recommend eating here we were both full and took the food back to east Anglia for tea Monday night after our long drive back home .. Would deffinately return next time were in town

“Pre illuminations meal. ”

Reviewed 1 September 2014
This hidden gem of an Indian restaurant is really worth searching for. After being given inaccurate directions by the Spice Lounge restaurant owner who at 5.30pm was closing up (we found this unbelievable especially on a Saturday evening in Blackpool), we eventually found it using TripAdvisor and Maps. The restaurant is situated upstairs so disabled patrons wouldn't be able to dine here. On arriving we were given a lovely welcome. The food was delicious, however the service was a little lacking. Firstly when our starters arrived the plates and sauces from our poppadoms were still on the table. We'd all but finished our starters when the waiter brought the mint sauce and chilli sauce! We'd presumed that their starters didn't come with sauces. The main meal arrived piping hot and well presented. Overall we'd definitely visit this restaurant again but having eaten very frequently at an Indian restaurant in Clayton Le Dale, our standards we expect are extremely high.

“The best indian we have ever had!”

Reviewed 26 August 2014
We visited Akash over the bank holiday weekend and can't fault it one bit. The food was lovely. Service was a little slow as they were very busy but they did keep apologising for this.
We ordered chicken korma & garlic beef with rice - everything we ordered was very tasty and it was great value for money.
We will definitely be returning to Akash!

“Best Indian in Blackpool”

Reviewed 12 August 2014
I go to the Akash for all my Indian Meals. The staff are all lovely and the service is really fast. The Curry is always spot on and the price is very good. The location and external appearance do not help the place, but you should ignore this and go an enjoy a great curry.

“Best of the best”

Reviewed 12 August 2014
I just wanted to thank you for providing an amazing service. I was very impressed with the meal I had, I would recommend to any of my friends and the staff were friendly and approachable. I will definitely visit again

“Excellent”

Reviewed 12 August 2014
Very good indian food and very helpful staff in the centre of Blackpool. Because of the good food and nice prices we went there twice and can really recommend this restaurant!

“A little gem”

Reviewed 9 August 2014
As you walk along Topping Street, it is very easy to miss this restaurant, as all there is at street level is a doorway, the business being on the first floor.
Do not pass by if you like Indian food.
You will be rewarded with a friendly welcome, very well prepared food, served by polite, and informative staff.
Definitely a place that I will return to next time I am in town.

“Little hidden gem”

Reviewed 5 August 2014
Went on a Friday night (two couples) .... Really friendly staff, food was absolutely delicious, extremely fresh, and very reasonably priced... Would definately recommend and will definately be back

“Superb”

Reviewed 4 August 2014
We visited this restaurant last year and as we were in Blackpool again this year decided to go again as the food and service are excellent. Well I'm pleased to say nothing has changed, superb food and great service, I would recommend this restaurant if you like Indian food.

“Great little restaurant!”

Reviewed 26 July 2014
Visited here recently with the Mrs, 2 kids and the in-laws. I had a lamb dish which was absolutely sublime!, the Mrs and in-laws also extremely enjoyed their dishes. Reasonable prices, friendly environment and top notch food. Would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Blackpool. Superb!

“the best”

Reviewed 25 July 2014
my husband and i go to blackpool every few months we live in southampton but originally from the north.this indian is the best we have ever been in and we travel alot and love indian food.every dish is superb and you can tell only the best ingredients used and flavours subline to anywhere else.the king prawns are the biggest we have ever seen in a restaurant we also had our own business before retireing and also only did homemade food both of us chefs.sammy and his team are very friendly this place is a gem.other indians in blackpool do offers but if you want a fantastic meal and not expensive then eat here.we so wish he would open a restaurant in southampton as nothing comes even close.see you soon your customers forever from southamptonxxx

“Holiday meal”

Reviewed 23 July 2014
Visited with my wife and daughter having read the reviews and had a recommendation from my b and b. Nice little restaurant with friendly and welcoming staffing who were happy to cook me a dish I tried to describe and got it spot on. The flavours were lovely and the lamb tender and my daughter finished her plate of lamb tikka bhuna which was the ultimate complement!! The prices are very reasonable and my Pint of cobra was fantastic. Highly recommend.

“So delicious!”

Reviewed 21 July 2014
We were on family related trip and staying in Blackpool, and this is a must for Indian food lovers and novices alike, a great Blackpool experience. Sami the owner is warm and welcoming. The best in all respects!

“Plumbing & eating”

Reviewed 20 July 2014
Always good ! !! Cheers. Manager custom made me a curry to suit my needs, Mrs had a korma (chicken) I had some hot tackle and a few shikkers

“Lovely anniversary meal”

Reviewed 20 July 2014
Went here on the recommendation of our B & B hosts. Lovely, tasty meal in Sloan and pleasant surroundings. Would definitely return. Well priced too.

“The Akash”

Reviewed 14 July 2014
went to see mama mia then went for a meal in akash restaurant, good food pleasent service clean place . got told to go there good choice will go back if we are in blackpool again .good location near winter gardens go and visit

“If you love Indian cuisine, come here”

Reviewed 11 July 2014
We found another gem courtesy of Trip Advisor. We came on a quiet Thursday and were not disappointed. We had various starters including chicken chaat mixed kebab and onion bagee. Followed by vindaloo, achar, korma and tikka Marsala with various rices and naan breads. They did not disappoint. All were excellent and enjoyed by all especially with a complimentary liqueur. Will definitely be back again when in Blackpool.

“traditional and enjoyable”

Reviewed 9 July 2014
Traditional tandoori that keeps its authentic look and feel, food very tasty and good quality, owner friendly, staff pleasant.

“Weekedn Treat”

Reviewed 4 July 2014
First class as always, and always worth the trip over from Brighouse, West Yorks, great management, and nothing too much trouble.

“Friendly Staff”

Reviewed 4 July 2014
Good food, nice ambience and cheap drinks. Staff very helpful and clean venue. I used my hi life diners card. To get 50% discounts highly recommended

“Lovely food, lovely staff.”

Reviewed 29 June 2014
On a trip round england we popped in here for dinner on the recommendation of one of the locals we had met. The food was delicious and great value - The staff that were on, Sammy and Kai, were very welcoming & friendly which made for a really relaxed atmosphere.
If you do go, you really need to try the saag paneer, it's excellent.
We would definately go back next time we are passing down that way

“Cracking”
Reviewed 5 June 2014
We just had a 2 course meal here & realy enjoyed it. Started with a prawn cocktail & a prawn puree both realy tasty followed by a chicken korma & a chicken rogan josh both mains cooked to perfection. Staff very friendly & helpful will recomend anyone to this place.

The Akash”
Reviewed 5 June 2014
went to blackpool for the dance festival for the last 8 years and every year we go to akash i have to comment about sammy and staff they never let us down. i think he desereves a mention for his effort and hard word food service top class thanks sammy see u next year.

“We would go back if we were local!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014
An excellent curry served up by friendly staff. My wife and I have at least a curry a week and Akash would be our favourite if we didn't live 300 miles away! Well worth a visit.

“A Long time favorite”
Reviewed 23 May 2014
My friends and I have been visiting Akash for 18 years , we visit from time to time and if were in Blackpool to eat then it is here we visit, We have never been disappointed with the food. It is a good traditional Indian Restaurant a little back from the prom but the best we have found.
We do regularly visit other towns in the northwest and Akash Blackpool is the best, non of your contemporary fancy crockery that bumps the price sky high Just "Good Honest Indian Food" .

“Hidden Treasure with Taste Sensation”
Reviewed 21 May 2014
I am currently hear on business basis for long term with my work and can't help but partake in Indian cuisine whilst I'm here. I have visited number of restaurants in the area, however this restaurant came up near, were found this hidden gem to be best so far in Blackpool. Though I give it a go, the host Sammy and his staff were so friendly, helpful and welcoming. The service was exceptional, great tasting authentic food and very reasonably priced. The drinks were very reasonable....... the list goes on, however the small entrance to the restaurant did put me off on my first experience at the Akash, due to being upstairs. Although I have know become their regular customer.

“the best curry house in blackpool Akash”
Reviewed 11 May 2014
16 of us had gone to the Akash Restaurant in blackpool for my 21st birthday meal, and I have to say, it was one of the best Indians I've had in ages.
We had booked the table for 7:30. When we got in, they took us to the table rather than waitin around,
The food was amazing; we started off with popadoms and starters which we shared between each other and then the main course. I had ordered the lamb korahi which was cooked to perfection...it was delicious.
After that, we went back to the cocktail lounge where we were treated to some complimentary drinks which topped the night off.
I would recommend Akash to anyone who likes to have an amazing meal with friendly waiters who are there for you're every need

“Lovely”
Reviewed 7 May 2014
My boyfriend and I travelled from London to come to Blackpool for the weekend, following on from tradition we always have a curry when we travel away. We asked a local which Indian resturant they would recommend and they said Akash. We had a look on tripadvisor and the reviews looked promising, and we wasnt dissapointed!

Dont be put off by the door at the front, once we went upstairs we were walmly welcomed by the lovely staff. Compared to down south the tikka masala is a little sweeter, but it was still lovely to eat, the food didnt take the long to arrive, the decor was slightly dated, but welcoming. Overall very good experience! Go if you get a chance

“Enjoyed it...”
Reviewed 27 April 2014
Accomodated a larger than expected party - food was excellent. Staff friendly and busy. Don't be put off by the single door access to upper floor premises.

“Lovely food”
Reviewed 17 April 2014
This place is very easy to walk past small doorway leading to the upstairs restaurant would be easy to say no to however the food and service was excellent not the best decor so depends what you want can not compare with any other Indian restaurants yet but would be surprised if the food can be bettered

“Fantastic.”
Reviewed 8 April 2014
Easy to find, no problems being seated. With wonderful service, the food and atmosphere was really enjoyable. Also the prices are very good

“Very good food ”
Reviewed 5 April 2014
Good food good service. Nice to be at. Good night out

“The Best Tandoori chicken ”
Reviewed 29 March 2014
Me and my friends been here for a Saturday night meal. I ordered the mix tandoori sizzlar dish.The Akash has mesmerised me with the taste of the dish.my friends thanked me for bringing them there.The staffs were very friendly. Although the restaurant was very busy the service was with his smile which is important to me. I definitely will be back for my next visit.

“Brilliant Curry House”
Reviewed 24 March 2014
This is a real curry house. Many establishments are decorated in Magnolia and with a minimalist style. The Akash is carpeted and decorated in red. I have visited twice and come to the conclusion this is the best curry in Blackpool. This time I had a Dansak and my mate had a Rogan Josh. Sammy and his staff are excellent hosts. Service is carried out with a smile. Sammy (who is football expert) provides the banter. If you want a beautifully cooked meal in warm pleasant surroundings with excellent staff then this is the place for you.
Leighton (and his mate Clive), Swansea City supporters.

“Wowed us the food!!!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014
My wife and me visited the Akash restaurant... There the food was really authentic and delicious. I recommend you to go the restaurant....

“Repeat client”
Reviewed 25 February 2014
My friends and I had planned dinner at The Akash for one of the nights we were in Blackpool but ended up eating there all 4 nights. We were well served with very tasty and varied Indian meals.

“Very friendly and good food ”
Reviewed 22 February 2014
This a very good restraunt food excellent Sammy the owner will make u very welcome and talk your socks off and is funny won't find a better Indian in Blackpool town centre eat in or takeout we eat here and recommend to our guest and never have any complaints

“LOVELY”
Reviewed 22 February 2014
This restaurant was an excellent choice.

The food was full of flavour, a good sized portion and well priced.

The staff were welcoming and friendly throughout.

We went on a Friday night, quite early at 7pm and I'm glad we had made the reservation as obviously this is a popular place with locals and tourists alike.

Thank you for such a great meal.

“Brilliant.”
Reviewed 21 February 2014
Went in as a result of reviews here - would have walked past otherwise. Decor wise, very dated, but who cares - wasn't there for interior design ideas! The food was excellent - unfortunately I wasn't feeling that well so barely touched it but I could still tell it was top notch and reasonably priced. The owner sammi, was friendly and chatty. Definitely go back when hungrier!

“Excellent, as ever!!!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014
My hubby Chris, daughter Claire, son Craig, & myself (Marilyn) went to the Akash on Feb 4 the to celebrate my birthday, & were pleasantly surprised to see the place's decor had been updated, looking clean, bright & modern. As usual the service was excellent, as was the food, which was tasty & great value, with more than enough to eat. My birthday treat from Hassan (Sammy), the owner/manager, whom we've known for 23 years which is the length of time we've been dining out at the Akash, was a Kulfi ice cream, & an alcoholic drink of my choice, on the house, which was a nice touch.
When reading the derogatory reviews on Trip Advisor, I couldn't help feel that some people must be extremely hard to please, as we can't find fault with anything!! Thanks Sammy for brilliant treatment yet again.

“Best in Blackpool”
Reviewed 11 February 2014
Me an my family moved from America over a year ago indian food taste better in england I have tried 4 to 5 in blackpool but I find the akash has outstanding food and service so I recommend anyine tht visits Blackpool to try this restaurant.

“Good value for money”
Reviewed 10 February 2014
Me and my girlfriend came to Blackpool for a holiday. We found Akash from TripAdvisor. We ordered two dishes, one vegetable and one lamb dish.Both were very tasty. We also had one round drinks. The bill came less than 20 pounds. Service was also very friendly. We recommend everyone visiting Blackpool to try Akash.

“Great family meal!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014
Me and my family came to Blackpool for a short break, The Akash was highly recommended to us by a taxi driver so we went. As we entered we were nicely greeted by all the waiters who took us to our table, the food was amazing and the price was very cheap compared to what we usually pay in London for food of the same quality! it was overall a great experience and we will definitely come again!

“Exam pass celebration at Akash”
Reviewed 1 February 2014
Some of our senior students recommended us about Akash. We travelled 6 miles with a group of 8 people. The owner said he will recommend us a banquet. We had some meat and veg dishes. They tested really very nice and fresh. The nan bread was the best we have tested in England. End of the night we were surprised to have a bill of only 90 pounds including the drinks. We will be defiantly be back again for our next celebration.

“Best Indian in Blackpool”
Reviewed 19 January 2014
I am a student at the nautical college in fleetwood. My friends recommended me to dine at Akash. Last week I went for the dinner.The food was awsome tasty and the portion is also large.Specially he tandoori dishes are very nice.The staffs were friendly. The owner of the restaurant is a very nice and friendly man. He can remember his customers for ages.I am very pleased eating at Akash.

“superb banquet”
Reviewed 16 January 2014
I have eaten in this restaurant many times before over the years, and it has always been very good. Last Friday my brother invited me to join him and his friends for a meal 12 of us in total. We had Poppadoms with lovely fresh tasting dips, then a plate of mixed starters delicious, then came the main courses..... really tasty different dishes kept coming, lamb, chicken,prawn and vegetarian dishes all prepared to a very high standard accompanied with rice and lovely naan bread. The service as always excellent. The owner really spoils you treats you like a long lost family member. I wish the Akash was in Dublin where i live.

“Spur of the moment”
Reviewed 15 January 2014
Decided at short notice to pop in for a meal. Don't expect a palace. It's not, but very friendly service, food excellent and well priced. Will go back and hopefully see it when its busier. Not unexpectedly, it was quiet on a Tuesday night but would expect it to be quite lively if busy. Plenty of good pubs nearby to have a drink first as well.

“Worth making the detour”
Reviewed 8 January 2014
All dishes well presented and tasty, staff fast and courteous, owner entertainingly courteous and attentive - in all, a very pleasant experience.



“yet again worth the travel ....”
Reviewed 26 December 2013
We have been her before and ive travelled from Worcestershire to come to eat this lovely food the staff are brillant and the owner just spoils us ,we had the main mixed grill which came with nan bread and curry sauce ...great meal .
i would reccommend the food here its all cooked to order and worth the wait.
I will brave the M6 again to come to Blackpool to see family and eat great food here .....TRY IT ...GREAT MEAL EVERY TIME .

“Food and service both excellent”
Reviewed 16 December 2013
One of the locals recommended this place and I must say I was not disappointed. I'd go as far as saying it was THE best Indian meal I have ever had (and that says a lot as I eat Indian food every week!). The prices were great too - really cheap. The owner (Sammy?) was really friendly and couldnt do enough for us to make sure we had a great meal. The place is upstairs and if someone hadnt advised me to go I probably would have walked on by, so if you are in Blackpool - go eat here!

“Outstanding atmosphere”
Reviewed 12 December 2013
I came to akash with my friends n had an amazing chicken masala it was amazingly tasteful we were well greated by the owner sammy an his amazing staff it was well priced n good environment

“Friday night curry”
Reviewed 27 November 2013
Found this little place by accident, a bit small but once you get upstairs all the staff are very friendly. Lovely food at reasonable prices, 2 poppadoms, 2 nans, 2 curries, 2 rice & 2 large drinks for less than £30. Would definitely recommend, absolutely lovely!

“best indian in blackpool !!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013
every time i go to blackpool to see family we always end up at this fantastic place the owner always remembers us and always happy to chat food is top notch and authentic indian and the always happy to see you even if its 12pm lookin forward to my next visit

“Very good and tasty Indian dishes”
Reviewed 26 November 2013
We had our dinner last Sunday at this Bangladeshi hotel during our holiday in Blackpool. We had Lamb tikka, Chicken Bhuna, Chicken tandoori naan, fried rice and house daal. The food was awesome. To be honest, it was one of the most tasty Indian dishes I had so far anywhere in UK. The owner and the staff was very nice and friendly to us. The food came very quickly (the restaurant was very less crowded though). I would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Blackpool or staying there.

“Best Authentic Indian Meal”
Reviewed 25 November 2013
Visited The Akash on 23/11/13 as we were staying for the weekend in Blackpool. The staff were very friendly and service was very good. The meal its self was the best authentic curry we have had and the price was really good value for money.We were given complimentary drinks on departure and had a nice chat to the owner.We will be going back on our next visit to Blackpool and would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 16 November 2013
Nice friendly welcome and service , food very good . When in Blackpool again will definitely give you a repeat visit.

“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed 11 November 2013
Had a takeaway meal, which was lovely. Poppadoms were fresh and tasty, as were all main meals. Overall very good

“Best in blackpool”
Reviewed 9 November 2013
Been trying to find a good Indian for years in Blackpool now I've found it. Food and service fantastic will be returning soon

“akash indian resturant blackpool”
Reviewed 2 November 2013
went to the akash on the 22/10/13 the meal was excellent one of the best curry i have had in a long time it was so good that i went again two nights later the owner was so pleased that we had come again he gave us a drink on the house and complementry onion bargess i would reccommend this place to anyone who goes to blackpool

“classic old school curry house”
Reviewed 28 October 2013
I have been a regular at the Akash for more years than I can remember which says a lot in itself. Blackpool has a number of new and newish curry houses which are good. But for me the original is still best. You will not meet a friendlier host than Hassan and the food is fantastic. Also it is one of the few places now where you are guaranteed a late curry.

“really good authentic indian restuarant”
Reviewed 26 October 2013
went here for a meal on fri evening 25/10/13. such a lovely authentic indian restuarant, really friendly staff, good choice menu, prices really good too, and the food was really well cooked and good portion size

“AlwAys a nice place to visit”
Reviewed 24 October 2013
I found this restaurant though my girlfriends mother it the first time I tried Indian food it was really tasty I love the peshawri naan. It was the best bread I have ever tasted.

“Great place for a curry in Blackpool”
Reviewed 24 October 2013
I have visited the Akash for over 20 years now. Hassan still runs a great curry house.
The service is friendly and the food is great.
Yes the decor is a little dated but that isn't important - the curry is really good.
Great central location and well worth a visit if you need a curry in Blackpool.
They will make you feel very welcome.
What it does offer that many curry restaurants do not is the ability to have a curry once the pub shuts at 1130pm. Most places are closed but the Akash is still open and ready to serve you!
Well done Hassan!

“Wanna enjoy the best indian meal!!!! This surely is the place......”
Reviewed 23 October 2013
One of the best places to dine in the busy streets of blackpool, best and versatile menu off all the indian restaurant close by. Good ambience, fast and active service.

“Good curry”
Reviewed 21 October 2013
Staying over in Blackpool for a few days on the first night we felt like a curry. Looking on Tripadvisor we picked the Akash were not disappointed.

As reported in other reviews the decor is a little dated but on the night we visited it was clean and tidy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Both the food and service were excellent, although neither of us was not too keen on the Peshwari naan bread (too doughy). But, good starters and tasty curries. Can ask no more.

“Great food and service.”
Reviewed 21 October 2013
Always go here when we're in Blackpool, as others have said the decor could be improved but the food and welcome are great. There seems to be a trend in many Indian restaurants to cut down on the herbs and spices that give a complex and full flavour, but not here. Delicious again, thanks.

“food,staff really great.”
Reviewed 14 October 2013
got my food just how i like it and will defo come again.me,and my family and friends love coming to the akash and great place to come ,they make us feel welcome and we always leave with a smile.also bus stops straight outside.

“food,staff really great.”
Reviewed 14 October 2013
got my food just how i like it and will defo come again.me,and my family and friends love coming to the akash and great place to come ,they make us feel welcome and we always leave with a smile.also bus stops straight outside.

“Best meal ever!!!!!!”
Reviewed 12 October 2013
Fantastic food, amazing staff, best meal in blackpool!!! Recormended to everyone. By far the best indian restaurant...

“lovely”
Reviewed 11 October 2013
i took my grandad to this indian and it was lovely the staff were very nice and helpful and the food was outstanding looking forward to visiting again :D from kirsty and trevor

“S@mi The LeGênD.....!!!!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013
Myself studying in B&FC FLEETWOOD NAUTICAL COLLGE ..I came with few of my frieNds..to try the Indian cusine ...was really awesome in UK same like eating back home in NEW DELHI...don't take my word just vi§it...Urself GUYS ...ENJOY...CHEEr§...!!!

“great food”
Reviewed 6 October 2013
we went as a party of 4 sat night and were not dissapointed, food,services,prices all brill. it was 64.00 for the four of us including 2 bottles of wine. will deffo go back next time in blackpool

“awesome!!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013
I was in The Akash on Wednesday night and i must say it was lovely. the food and staff are all excellent! well worth a visit....i will be going back. thanks guys

“A great Curry”
Reviewed 3 October 2013
The place is not the best decorated restaurant in town and it is up stairs (they are like a 1 in 3) but the food is good, it is a good place to go after a trip round the towns pubs with your mates and Sammy the owner never fails to entertain.

“Jusy the job”
Reviewed 30 September 2013
We had a fabulous meal tonight .full of flavours x as hot as you like .nice and hot to your table .sammie as good sd gold full of beans all smiles .

“The best indian restaurant in Blackpool!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013
I have been coming here every year for about 10 years. Service is always fantastic, the food is great and the manager is lovely. Would recommend anyone to go try it!

“Fantastic”
Reviewed 21 September 2013
Wish i new about this place years ago, Great service lovely food great value, absolute must! Highly recommend

“Excellent !!!!!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013
Owner and staff very friendly, polite, helpful. Lovely atmosphere, great food and generous portions. Would highly recommend this restaurant

“A perfect Indian experience”
Reviewed 15 September 2013
The Akash restaurant has a divine layout with exceptional food. A perfect Indian experience and spectacular food cuisine. You can order wether you would like your food to be spicy or not. Which I thought was good service. Sammi ( the owner) and his staff are pleasent to be around and to take my friends and children.

“Brilliant”
Reviewed 14 September 2013
Come here twice a year atleast wouldn't go anywhere else food and staff are absolutely brilliant highly recommend it! Many thanks again kirkland carpets, cleator moor, cumbria !??

“Amazing place too eat, very relaxing atmosphere and the food is to die for....”
Reviewed 10 September 2013
Lovely little indian too eat at, feel very welcomed and the service very good and the staff are very friendly too. The food is amazing wish they had a restaurant in Nottinghamshire :-) would love to go back when we're next in blackpool.

“Excellent food and very warmly Sammy is a great host”
Reviewed 6 September 2013
Enjoyable place to eat and very welcoming. Would recommend anyone visiting Blackpool go and eat at the Akash and meet Sammy and his team

“Helpful staff”
Reviewed 25 August 2013
Came to Blackpool on holiday from Birmgham with my family. Went to try the restaurant an we were greeted with a smile we were new to the area the manager called sammy helped me to find all the attractions we needed. When the food came out it was better then i thought it would be because we come from the Bolti capital of the north. So i recommend anyone to come dine at this restaurant.

“Absolutely beautiful food, fantastic service and highly recommended.”
Reviewed 17 August 2013
I came across this restaurant as it received good reviews. I fully understand why. This is the best service I have experienced in a restaurant. First class. The food was better than I anticipated. And I've been to many Indian restaurants. The staff and manager couldn't have been more courteous and helpful. Highly recommended.

“Good value”
Reviewed 17 August 2013
Went to try this restaurant with my family there was 8 of us we had starters an main courses which was tasty food an the service was good and the bill was under £100 which i thought was good. The main courses in my opion was quit large porchon

“Tasty”
Reviewed 16 August 2013
Me and my family came to Blackpool on holiday we went to akash for a meal on a Saturday night around 8 o'clock .It was very busy when we got there but we still got attended to quickly.We got served with a smile. When the food came out it looked fresh and tasted very nice. I will be surely visiting again next year when I go to Blackpool.

“A Great find”
Reviewed 13 August 2013
We were at the Rebellion festival for a 4 days so needed to find good Indian food. The reviews looked promising but the reality was even better. We are all vegetarian and ordered classic dishes that were not listed as having veggie option but was not a problem. We are great fans of Indian cuisine and have to say that the food at the Akash was among the best I have tasted, this coupled with good service and reasonable prices was too good to resist a second visit a couple of days later where we were greeted as old friends.

“Excellent”
Reviewed 10 August 2013
We visited the Akash after reading the reviews and we weren't dissapointed. The service was very good and the staff freindly and attentive. Our meal was excellent, one of the best we have had. So if you are in Blackpool and fancy a curry we would highly recomend this restaurant.

“WOW!! Authentic Indian Food in Blackpool”
Reviewed 6 August 2013
Myself and my partner went to a show on Monday evening after leaving the show started to look for a place to eat had nothing in mind. Most of the restaurants in the area were closed. Found Akash and what a find. Myself and my partner being of Asian decent do know a thing or two about Indian food and I highly recommend this restaurant usually I don't hold much promise when going to restaurants late near the end of service but the curries were excellent and the true sign of a good Indian restaurant is the tikka Dhal and it was amazing along with the most fluffy tandoori roti.
Sammi the owner was very friendly and Ali our waiter was great good sense of humour both of them. We will be going back again and again Cheers Guys and well done.

“The indians of indians”
Reviewed 6 August 2013
Excellent venue for nice atmosphere brilliant food and good value for money. Also a good service with friendly staff. Would recommend for anyone in Blackpool

“Value for money”
Reviewed 2 August 2013
Best curry around.sami top host great atmosphere. Been comming a long time. No complaints will keep comming back

“First Class!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013
First visit to this restaurant as it was recommended to us by the hotelier where we stayed. We were greeted by an extremely polite young man, Tan, who was a pleasure to be served by. Later we met his dad and owner Sammy, a great character and very chatty. The food was excellent and not over priced. We will continue to visit The Akash at every opportunity and suggest you do the same. Sammy and Tan are really likeable and make people feel extremely welcome.

“Best in town”
Reviewed 27 July 2013
Great food. Great price. Very friendly staff. One meal with sammy and you'd think you'd known him for years.

“Hidden gem of Blackpool!!!”
Reviewed 23 July 2013
I visited this restaurant on recommendation from a friend, so i thought i woupd give it a go. What an experience!! Definitely the friendliest service and attentive waiters ive ever come across. The food was out of this world hot and very very tasty. You will never leave here hungry with the most generous portions filled with meat. Definitely the hidden gem of Blackpool!!!!

“eating out”
Reviewed 21 July 2013
we ve been going to this restaurant for nearly 20 years. the food is excellentand the staff especially the owner are very welcoming. the decoration is a little dated but it s the food that keeps us coming back time after time. if you re not sure what to order or it s not on the menu "SAMMY" he s the boss will do his best to meet your requirements. he seems to have a good knowledge of football so be warned. this little gem has had it s fair share of famous people through it s doors so you might be lucky to dine among the stars one night! give this place a try when you re in town, you might be pleasantly surprised. it s not over priced and if you don t like it it s not going to break the bank.there is one draw back and that is there is no disabled access. we hope you enjoy your visit we always do!! john &amanda.

“Best indian by far!”
Reviewed 20 July 2013
We only ever eat here for indian food. The service is fantastic and the food is absolutely beautiful. I am quite a fussy eater too but i have always enjoyed my food here. We eat here all the time. Quality food for good prices. Definitely worth a visit.

“Don't be fooled by outside area”
Reviewed 20 July 2013
Stayed at Edenfield guest house and after reading reviews on TA decided to try a curry. Walked from Edenfirled down Dickson Road. Not a great area and a couple of rough looking bars. If i went again i would take the scenic route and walk along the promenade. The Akash doesn't look inviting and as you walk through the door you go up a flight of stairs into the restaurant. We were the only people in there at 7.30pm however it was a melting day in Blackpool last week so doubt many people fancied a curry. Ordered 2 diet cokes and they came in small glasses with an ice cube. looked like it was poured from a bottle opened 2 days ago and was flat and not that cold. My wife could see my face and thought I was going to get up and go. Am so glad we didn't!!
Ordered poppadoms and chutney trays and didn't bother with starters as wanted the meal to be over quickly. The mango chutney/onion salad etc was excellent. They also had a red spicy sauce which i have never had before and that was lovely too.
Chicken tikka masala was very tasty and we also ordered a tandoori mixed grill which came out sizzling on a skillet of hot onions. Loads of meet and fantastic. nan bread was massive. twice the size of the ones down here and the food was one of the best curries I have eaten.
Whole bill came to £25 so really reasonable and am coming up again in Sept to visit friends and will definitely go back.
fantastic meal!!

“Hot and spicy food”
Reviewed 17 July 2013
I am a mackem. I have been coming to Blackpool for years and I always go to akash to see Sammy. He always looks after me and I always love to have Phall the hottest dish in the menu . Every time I come I enjoy their nice flavoured food and their special service. I hope I will visit this restaurant again and again.

“Outstanding food, outstanding staff, great restaurant”
Reviewed 12 July 2013
I have come out with my girlfriend to have something to eat, it was a shot in the dark bit I thought we would give it a shot, when we arrived we received a really warm welcome, the service was next to none and the food was outstanding. I would definitely recommend this place to anybody that even like Indian food or is even curious about the taste of the food. Five stars all day long!!

“Utterly brilliant.”
Reviewed 12 July 2013
I came in for the first time with my boyfriend, the service was amazing and the food was fantastic. I would definatly recommended this restaurant for an amazing atmosphere and a brilliant night.

“our visit to akash xx”
Reviewed 9 July 2013
Been coming to the akash for 10 years Sammy allways looks after me n my family and reasonable prises and good food also they have fast and friendly service I recommend u to go to the akash restaurant

“Absolutely brilliant service and delicious food”
Reviewed 8 July 2013
The food and service here is second to none. The food is cooked to perfection to however you like your curries and the waiter service is excellent. I always come here for a curry when in blackpool and every time it has been devine. There is an excellent selection of food with all tastes catered for, my favourite is chicken tikka masala or chicken balti and the garlic naan breads are just so totally scrummy. The waiter service is excellent, they always come round to check everything is ok with your meal etc. If you like curries you will love this restaurant.

“fantastic food and great value!”
Reviewed 7 July 2013
I decided to take the family to The Akash after reading it's great reviews, my expectations were high and they were all exceeded! The food was full of flavour, I had ordered the Lamb Balti and it was the best one I've ever had.

The service was outstanding as the waiters attended to out every need and checked up on us during our meal, the manager is a hilarious guy who really made us feel at home. The manager payed a lot of attention to us and ensured we had everything we needed, even when it was busy.

All together my family ordered four mains and two starters and a few drinks, the bill came to about £30 excluding drinks which is amazing value compared to other Indians I have been to! The Akash really does have everything a good Indian should and is one of the best restaurants I have been to, would definitely come again!

“Excellent value”
Reviewed 5 July 2013
Went to try this curry house in blackpool after reading these recommendations on trip advisor, I am vegetarian so I tried paper jalfrezi it was the best I had for many years, I also liked the service

“wonderful meal!”
Reviewed 29 June 2013
Went to The Akash for my 18th as it was recommended to me by a mate, the food was beautiful and the service was great, the boss is great guy who made sure we had everything we wanted! Would recommend this place to anyone!

“Holiday in blackpool”
Reviewed 24 June 2013
Great restaurant, great food, great service. Top restaurant for a meal. Went with my partner. Great place to go. Prices very reasonable too. 5 star rating

“Excellent Indian restaurant”
Reviewed 22 June 2013
I went to Blackpool for the weekend with my mates. We have been recommended Akash Tandoori (Indian Restaurant) by locals. The food quality was excellent especially the lamb bhuna. It was tender and tasty. The environment was nice. The staff were friendly and their service was fast and good. I would recommend Akash who want to taste Indian food.

“good times”
Reviewed 9 June 2013
me and my family came to blackpool for a weekend we found this place from the taxi driver we went in to try it out i personaly went for lamb bouna it was tasty and tender i highly recomend this freindly place

“Great food, nice atmosphere,can't complain :-)”
Reviewed 9 June 2013
Food was excellent, we had a family party of 8 people who all agreed the same, a bit rushed to order food but overall would defo return......8/10.

“fantastic time”
Reviewed 7 June 2013
Good atmosphere I ordered chicken shashlic when it arrived the biggest one I saw and it tasted wonderful; freindly staff big carpack behind which is helpfull.

“Little oasis!”
Reviewed 29 May 2013
We tried The Akash over the Spring Bank Holiday while staying in Blackpool with friends. We had a good start with them when we rang to book - there was no answer and it went to an answering machine but I had a return call within a couple of minutes to say they'd missed my call and could they help! The decor is a bit dated and could do with a freshen up, but the food was really, really good. We had the set meal for four which was excellent value, the dishes were well varied to suit all tastes and arrived piping hot. The manager was really friendly and couldn't do enough for us. I had one small issue with my liqueur coffee and he replaced it, no problem. Yes I daresay there are smarter, plusher restaurants in Blackpool but The Akash was perfectly OK and if when I go back to Blackpool, I'll eat there again.

“Save your cash with a visit to Akash”
Reviewed 25 May 2013
From the outside it looks totally uninspiring however.......

Inside ~ Decor is never going to win any awards from Laurence Llewelyn Bowen but it is clean.

Menu ~ Extensive and not expensive. 3 starters,3 mains, 3 rice, family nan, 1 side and 6 drinks all for £53. Very big choice of dishes.

Staff ~ All really helpful/cheerful. Manager was absolutely brillaint making recommendations and altering dishes to suit your requirements.

Food ~ Fresh, hot and very tasty

Complimenatry side dish and complimentary drink on the way out.

Would definitely return.

“Superb service”
Reviewed 18 May 2013
As an elite athlete and table tennis player I try to limit eating unhealthily to no more than 7 times a week, therefore, visiting the Akash whilst playing in a table tennis tournament was a decision that wasn't taken lightly. This restaurant is excellent, the service is great. The manager is a lovely bloke who seems to know everyone who visits his restaurant on more than one occasion. On one occasion the manager even brought a top that I had left to the tournament I was playing the next day. My friend and I visit twice a year and the manager remembers where I live, what I do and so on, less so my less memorable friend but that is understandable. It is worth a visit to see the incredible growing waiter as his gym visits pay off. So, service is friendly, moreover, the food is also excellent and good value for money. Highly recommended.

“Well worth the visit”
10 April 2013
We visited the Akash because of trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed on our visit and would recommend you to visit from Paul and Debbie

“fabulous customer service”
Reviewed 9 April 2013
when me and my wife walked up topping street for a meal we came across a nice little Indian restaurant, when we entered the restaurant we were pleasently surprised at how beautiful the restaurant is and how clean its kept and then sami greeted us with a warm smile,
we ordered our food and had a drink while waiting sami bought drinks straight over to us and food arrived soon after it only took about 10 minutes the food was lovely and not expensive at all, after eating our food we went to pay the bill and sami rang us a taxi and gave me a drink on the house while waiting on taxi please note sami does take great care of all customers.

overall i will highly recommend going to the akash if you decide to go blackpool for a day or a weekend i know am going back

thanks again to all you lovely staff

“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 1 April 2013
Found this restaurant on tripadvisor and decided to give it a try based on the comments.

The décor is old, but the restaurant is clean and the food delicious. Service was good and the prices very reasonable indeed.

Will definitely return on our next trip to Blackpool and would highly recommend.

“Good quality food” 
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Nice small restaurant that you would never walk by and think to go in, but its a nice little gem of a place. Friendly people, good value and nice tasting food!! The inside is not a place that overwhelms you but im more concerend on a good dish and thats what i got....

“Good food in old-style Indian”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Last night wasn't my first visit to this restaurant but was somehow the best.

The chicken tikka jhalfrezi didn't have much "tikka" about it but it was piping hot with great fresh-tasting spices and a good, solid chillie kick to it which is to my taste.

Popadoms where fresh and crispy but the chutney tray featured only onion chutney and mango chutney. There was no lime pickle or yoghurt. The onion chutney is very good indeed with a subtle mix of onion, cucumber and fresh mint.

I ordered a draft Cobra beer which if I'm honest didn't taste like Cobra. I didn't question it though.

When the bill arrived it was written like a Doctor's note- totally illegible. I do like to go through my bill to make sure all is correct but this wasn't possible with a totally unreadable bill.

One waiter who I assume is the one all the reviewers name here as Sammy is friendly and personable.The other has a less friendly demeanour and looks like he's just opened his phone bill.

With one or two gripes this was a pleasant visit. Good Indian restaurants in central Blackpool are thin on the ground and this place is as good as it gets.

“Best for value and service in Blackpool.” 
Reviewed 13 March 2013
Visited Blackpool many times and akash is far by the best. Never had one bad meal there. Sammy is always making us feel welcome and he makes sure you have a good dining experience. Akash is located in a good town centre spot , right near winter gardens , which is the main conference and events place in Blackpool.

“Excellent curry” 
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We gave a bigger tip than Michael Barrymore, sammy is a legend, Ali was great, can't wait to go again

“I have tried another restaurant in blackpool this the best for the quality of food n outstanding service” 
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I have tried many other restaurants in blackpool this the best for the quality of food n outstanding service and great atmoshpere sammy makes sure every customer gets well treated

“Been coming here for 20yrs and thought I must pay this restaurant a compliment” 
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I've been coming here for twenty years and neglected to compliment Sammy, Ali and all the staff for the great food we have enjoyed over the years. The food is excellent and the service is superlative.

“Authentic and Tasty”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Me and my Fiance where undecided which Indian restaurant to try in Blackpool, and took pot luck after reading some good reviews, and what a bonus it was. A bit dubious when we first arrived as no other customers where in the resaturant. We were greeted by friendly staff who immediately made us feel welcome. Sometimes you can have good service but mediocre food or vice versa. Akash deliver on both. From the very tasty starters to the main course all the food was delicious, fresh and as the title says authentic. Would definitely recommend this restaurant and even more of a bonus we got to use a 241 tastecard.
J Lancaster

“Northern Curry House
Reviewed 16 January 2013
Ventured to the Akash on a wet and windy trip to the illuminations.

As previous reviewers have pointed out, this is a no frills old school type Indian but in my opinion all the better for it. Ignore the tatty decor and just revel in the quality food.

The service was great with nothing too much trouble and the bar prices are the cheapest I've come across in a long time. A bottle of house red was £8.00 and that is a rarity in a restaurant anywhere nowadays.

Our party of three emerged into the night full of fantastic food but also warmed by the hospitality and the large measures of free Brandy as it was also my birthday. Looking forward to visiting again.



“Do not be put off by how the place looks”
Reviewed 6 December 2012
Please do venture upstairs and back in time (the place looks like an 80's club) as the food is really worth it. I went with my mum and my husband, the food was some of the best I have ever eaten. The food was served piping hot and there was plenty of it. The quality was excellent.

“Good food and service”
Reviewed 20 November 2012
Recommended by our hotel. Good choice, tasty food, good service and reasonably priced. Central location as well.

“Good, Solid Old School Curry House”
Reviewed 2 November 2012
A visit to The Akash is a bit like stepping back in time to the 1970's but don't let that put you off because this is a proper old school northern curry house and all the better for it.The decor might be all flock wallpaper and garish carpets but the food and service are both solid and very reasonably priced.

There;s no concessions to nouvelle Indian or fusion cuisine at the Akash, the menu is all the old stagers we've come to know and love but they are done well. The chicken tikka was tender, the rice great, the sag paneer comes with proper lumps of cheese and not just a creamy mess but the real winners are the naan which are only slightly smaller than their midlands cousins.

Starters are around the £4-5 mark, mains usually £6-7 raising to £9 for a tandoori mixed grill and Cobra beer is a only £2.50 a pint so a hearty curry here is great value.

“Get a really good curry in Blackpool”
Reviewed 24 October 2012
If you want a good curry in Blackpool visit the Akash on Topping Street. You will get a warm welcome from Sammy the owner and his staff and you will always get good food. Have been going to this restaurant for years and visit whenever we go to Blackpool and have never been disappointed . Prices for food AND drinks are very reasonable and you can also get takeaways. Give it a try - if you like curries you will enjoy the Akash

“Love the Akash!!!”
Reviewed 20 October 2012
My mum reccomended a lovely, good value Indian restaurant the akash she went to few year ago so while in Blackpool last weekend we went along, Sammy the manager greeted us and recognised my mum even though it had been 4 year since she last went :).. The food was out of this world and the prices were good value.. The staff were all lovely will defiantly be back next year!! Thankyou Sammy and the staff for making our night amazing :) xxxxxx 

"Excellent"
3 October 2012
Great food, service & value for money. Highly recommended. Great location, five minutes walk from Blackpool tower.

"Simply Awsome....."
29 September 2012
we was 8 friends went there in december.We had the best food ever.All the stuff are so friendly to us specially the owner.They specially look after customers & serve with a smiling face.The food is so delicius & every single curry we enjoyed too much. So if we recommand any restaurant that would be akash.Thnks again for all the things.

"Trevorandbigbernie"
28 September 2012
We have been to Akash many times and it never disappoints There is always a great welcome from Sammy and his staff we have been with friends and family and everyone loves it

"One of the very best"
9 September 2012
My wife and I are addicted to curries and have been eating out at curry houses virtually every week for the last forty years, both in this country and abroad. The Akash is certainly one of the best. Not only is the food delicious but the waiters are very friendly and genuinely so. We have just come back from our seventh visit to Blackpool and our only regret is that it was only on this visit that we discovered this restaurant.

"Easily the best authentic Indian restaurant in Blackpool."
8 September 2012
I go out to eat good food in a good atmosphere with good company. That is exactly what we got here! Ignore any review that is below good. The food is great, the prices are great and the owner Sammy is friendly and jovial throughout your meal. Location is right in the mix of everything from hotels to bars to the promenade and arcades. Overall, perfect location and perfect night out!!! We'll be back soon :) loved it

"Stunning Indian"
4 September 2012
A lovely little Indian restaurant food was plentiful and the manager is real character who welcomed me with this classic one liner, "Whats a handsome boy like you doing on your own in a restaurant?" He charmed all the customers and the food was good and it was a fun place to be!

"Excellent value for money !!!"
2 September 2012
Visited here recently for our anniversary , service was quick ( maybe a tad too efficient ) but very eager to please. There was a larger party in as well but they ensured we received our food before theirs do no long wait. Food was tasty and my partner loved the chicken tikka nan bread . Good value for money .

Nothing to flash in way of decoration but if you want good Indian food quick and reasonable priced this is the place

"Very good and cheap too"
19 August 2012
After a short stay in Blackpool I was taken to this Indian on the advice of a taxi driver.

All the food was really good, especially the garlic chilli chicken.

The staff were all very nice and made good effort to keep us happy.

If you are in Blackpool and want a good curry go here. It isn't far off the front and well worth the walk.

"Legendary Hospitality!"
6 August 2012
As an exiled Blackpool boy, a visit to the Akash is always one of the highlights of my trips back home. Sammie's banter is worthy of any of Blackpool's famous stages and the food is better than virtually anywhere on Brick Lane (my adopted home) and as good as the bst Rusholem has to offer. There are a lot of changes going on in the town but if you want a real flavour of what makes Blackpool unique - great characters, great fun, great food, great value - then go to the Akash!!

Steve Bradley, London

"simply the best ,,,,,"
30 July 2012
i have heard about his food for a long time my sister sends all her customers here ,she raves about the food so i had to go to see for myself ,WELL the staff couldnt do more to serve you ,the owner made us so welcome ,a real lovely man who deserves to do well ,the food was FANSATIC, hot fast full of amazing flavours ,the food will bring me back but the welcome will make me remember a great night in Blackpool,sammy should be proud to have such a high standard of food and the price was brillant ,il be back and i highly recommend you to visit to enjoy the great service but most of all taste the lovely food ..iv been to the bham balti mile and lots and lots of good indian houses, this place i promise you a good meal ,excellant value and the best welcome which you will want to return for x thank you sammy and all your staff for a great time we had with you ...see you again soon xxxxxxxxxx

"highly recommended"
29 July 2012
wicked place to eat. Really friendly staff and exceptional food. Great value for money. Would most defo take family members and friends. The staff can't do enough for you and are good fun, we were made to feel very welcome. The quality of the food was exceptional, chicken tikka Jalfrazi is highly recommended. One of the best tasting Indians around. Top banana

"Great food and atmosphere"
22 July 2012
We loved the food here, and the restaurant had a great atmosphere, probably because all the golf crowd were in from the Open, which was why we were there too. The service was good, The food as I said, was really good, I had a really delicious spicy patia, and my husband had one of the house specials which had enormous juicy prawns. We really enjoyed our evening.

"The best curry by far xxx"
20 July 2012
just like to say we have been going to Akash for a good few years now ,and have never had a bad meal .Sammie has a big welcome for you just like old freinds we have a Hotel in Blackpool and if they fancie a curry well its Akash .Sammie will always do you anything you .want ,hot or not ,we love eating there

"One of the best indian restaurants we have ever visited..."
17 July 2012
Before we visit eateries nowadays, we regularly visit trip advisor to see how the public have voted an establishment. Whilst on holidays in Blackpool, we had a look for a nearby Indian that was well reviewed. The Akash restaurant was quite well reviewed and 5 minutes walk, so we decided to visit this evening.

The restaurant is situated upstairs and when we first entered,There is an "authentic" feel about the place and indian music playing which we liked, not like some of these ultra modern restaurants with no ambience. I have attached some photos to help you decide if this is the place you want to visit. I would advise if you are of generally snobby demeanour, to maybe reconsider. However, if you are wanting to eat at genuinely the best indian restaurant in Blackpool, then this place is 100% worth a visit. I have attached photos of the place to help you in deciding.

Our bill was £33.20 and we had 2 pints of Cobra, 4 poppadoms, a portion of onion bhajis, a portion of chicken pakora, a chicken korma, a chicken dansak, a keema naan and vegetable pilau rice. We have paid more for a take away in the past and so were very pleased with the price. Every part of our meal tasted freshly made and not pre prepared like a number of other restaurants. The flavours were delicious and minus declaring undying love to the management and asking if I could move in, I think I made it clear how I felt about their food.

Coming from Coventry, I have visited many indian restaurants over the years. Some have been good, some bad and some terrible. This one was exquisite and genuinely one of the best indian restaurants I have ever visited - when I visit Blackpool again, I will 100% be going back.

"Amazing curry and staff"
10 July 2012
For almost 3 years I've been regularly visiting the Akash. Nothing is ever too much bother for them if you want a dish amended a bit, the staff are very accommodating and knowledgeable about what the curries are like and what to recommend. I have tried other Indian's in the area but nothing compares to the Akash!! Sammy and all the staff are ace!

"Excellent Food, Great Atmosphere"
28 June 2012
I have visited the Akash a number of times, it is our Favourite Indian Restaurant because of the great food, reasonable prices and most of all the family friendly atmosphere. We have taken our children a few times and they are always accommodated. We like to go there whenever we are in town and on Birthdays.

The owner Sammy is happy to engage in conversation with customers and this gives a great atmosphere.


Akash Tandoori Restaurant • 76 Topping Street • Blackpool • FY1 3AD
 01253 626 677
fully licensed • takeaway service available • open 7 days a week including Bank Holidays